1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

DIY 1x15's w/JBL k140

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rawuol, Mar 26, 2013.

1. rawuol

rawuol

Mar 26, 2013
    This is my first post, Im kind of a noob. Basically I wanna build two Ported 1x15 Cabs.

As far as woodworking goes I am an experienced carpenter so not much to worry about there. What I am worried about is determining the Dimensions of these cabinets. I downloaded WinISD and apparently the JBL's are lacking some stats to input. Without stats, (and proper knowledge on how to use the program, Im at a standstill.

Suggestions? Ideas?

2. Do you already own the drivers?

3. Ha! you've come to the right place. Easiest way is to put them into ElectroVoice TL-606 cabs and use their 40 Hz box tuning.

The plans are readily available on line and have been a classic in the DIY world for a long time. I still have one and just recently finished one of two 1-15s to house a couple of D140Fs. The cab(s) is/are based on the TL-606 but I used round ports instead as well as a different bracing scheme.

If you go with the TL 606 I'd suggest using 1/2 inch plywood and lose the edge/corner bracing as that contributes nothing but weight. Instead brace using 1/2 by 1.5" plywood, maybe like this:

BigM 7.JPG

http://mypicsonline.net/archive/arc...es/EV/Builders Plans/TL606 Builders Plans.pdf

4. rawuol

rawuol

Mar 26, 2013
    Yes I do already have the drivers.

As far as the TL-606 plans go, I think you made my day.

5. glad to hear it :cool:

JBL recommends a Vb of 4 cu ft and a low Fb but the 3.2 cu ft of the TL-606 works nicely too, improved power handling.