DIY Building a 6x10 nonported light cab

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mark Joe, Jul 7, 2008.

1. Mark Joe

Mark Joe

Apr 8, 2008
    Frederick MD
    I am borrowing a friend's Acoustic 6x10 keyboard cabinet;
    I am attempting to build my own because I love the tone of
    the cabinet so much. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

First, I am an engineer but not an acoustic engineer;
    I don't quite understand why some cabs are ported and some are not.

This particular cab is 36" tall, only 12" deep, 24" wide; the
    drivers sit about 2 1/2" back from the face of the amp. It is made of
    3/4 plywood.

I play through a GK 400RB amp, with the treble fairly cranked.
    This together with the cab seems to give a very middy-to-high
    distorted but warm sound that cuts thru. I play indie punk styles.

Any advice on design for a cab of this type would be great.
    Materials, how to brace if at all etc. Should I use 1/2 plywood for
    a 6x10 cabinet?

Thanks!!!

Mark

2. parsons

parsons

Feb 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Baltic birch plywood is used in many cabs.

3. Mark Joe

Mark Joe

Apr 8, 2008
    Frederick MD
    How does one go about bracing, if 1/2 inch is used, or is 1/2 inch
    baltic birch unadvisable for such a large cab?

The cab I am using as a design basis (3/4" plywood) has one brace, mounted vertically up the middle, and braces the front to the back. It is centered, about 18" tall, with a 9" gap at the top and bottom.

Are there other / additional / better ways to brace? Thanks much!

4. Rick Auricchio

Rick Auricchio Registered Bass Offender

Mark, you first have to research the speakers themselves, since you're unlikely to find the same ones Acoustic used for that cab. The drivers you use will probably have different cab requirements.

Using the detailed speaker specs, one then designs the cabinet. It's important to get the cab interior volume correct, taking into account the space used by the braces and the drivers themselves.