Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

DIY cab project...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joe Martin, Mar 23, 2005.

1. Joe Martin

Joe Martin

Mar 23, 2005
    Frederick, MD
    First off, hello everyone, I'm kinda new to talkbass here, but read the site alot. My name is Joe (duh), and the reason I am making this thread is because I am about to embark on my own DIY cab building project. I am only 16 (thought you all might like to know that) but I am serious about doing this. I have been playing bass for a little over 5 years. In my school we have to do a graduation project to graduate, and I have decided to use that as an excuse to build my own cab :p .

I have already read alot on the internet and here about building your own cabs, but that is no where near enough to do it with. I am curious to know if there are any books that I should check out and read to get myself started on the basics and ideas behind loudspeaker design etc etc.

We have to have mentors to do this project (lucky for me), so I have already enlisted the help of a good family friend that happens to be a construction/carpenter dude, and my calc teacher to help me with any complex math that I am sure I will come across while doing this. I'm gonna see if this awesome local bass dudes knows anything and wants to help aswell. But it couldn't hurt to have a couple of seasoned bassists helping out too, so if any one here knows a good bit about this kind of stuff feel free to IM/email me, or just let me know your contact info so I may enquire you about certain topics at a later period in time. I'd greatly appreciate that.

Also, if there are any computer programs that you all know of that may assist in the design phase of the project, that would be extremely helpful aswell.

Thanks again to everyone for any and all help.

~Joe

2. Passinwind