Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

do all scales not begin with a root?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by TooL_051685, Jul 6, 2005.

1. TooL_051685

TooL_051685

Jan 19, 2005
    i thought scales were named by the root note they begin with, but now after looking at some diagrams of penatonics, i'm confused.

okay, I'm fairly new to playing bass and i learned all the plain old major and minor scales. now i'm attempting penatonic major and minor scales. now from what i read on one website the penatonic major scale consists of 6 notes and follows the pattern of: "root note-whole step-whole step-whole and a half step-whole step-whole and a half step.

Then i went to activebass.com and looked at their scale finder. i looked at the major penatonic scale for e. i noticed that the scale started off with an F# instead of a E. i also noticed that their penatonic scale includes 8 notes instead of six. but all the same notes did fall within the scale. it was just that different root not that confused me.

my question is should i learn it the first way or the second way. i understand extending the scale beyond the 6th note, but i think starting the scale early can be a confusing way to show it(especially for beginners) im also having a bit more trouble noticing a pattern to follow on the fret board. the regular major and minor scales i can zip through forward and backward withouth thinking twice.

thanks for any and all help