do bow sticks age?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Hortense&bow, Apr 17, 2002.

1. Hortense&bow

Apr 15, 2002
    Hi All,

Can the stick of a wooden bow age and loose it's qualities?

I've had a pernambuco(?) french bow with a round stick for 12 years or so, it's signed Peasold, bought in Paris. The best I thought reasonable for my wallet at the time ~300$ (my teacher's bow felt much more pleasant and easy but was way out of my league).

I got it rehaired recently like I've been doing evry year for the past 4-5 years with black hair. The good feeling of new hair did not last more than a few days, and find my bow slow and I can't get the precision I am looking for.
    Is it possible that the stick has aged? (I bow 15 to 20 hours a week) or can the new hair be of lesser quality or set-up too loose, which makes me tighten the screw more and force the stick to be too straight and too stiff?
    Or is it time for me to get a better bow, though I tend to think that my technique , not my gear is what limits me?

2. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    This is impossible to diagnose over the internet, but over time, a bow can lose its camber. I don't know of a permanent treatment for this.

Bad hair might be another problem. If it's not gripping or holding rosin, that could be a reason for your "lack of precision." Do you usually play with a lot of tension in the hair?

I'd hang on to the bow and see if another rehair works. A $300 pernambuco bow is a rarity these days.
  3. Well new bow hair usually (almost always sucks) and needs a week to break in and hold the rosin the way I like. Did you have your usual guy do the rehair?

Bows, over time, can lose their camber (like Chris said), or become warped. AFAIK, this only happens if the tension is never or rarely released.

One of my bows is about 80 years old and plays and sounds great.
  4. Hortense&bow

Apr 15, 2002
    thanks for your insights.