Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do expensive bows really sound better?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by FidgetStone, Jan 18, 2004.

1. FidgetStone

FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    I'm relatively new to DB and have invested the vast majority of my bass time in playing pizz and learning enough about basses to make an educated buying decision. (Just ordered a Christopher hybrid)

I have experimented with both French and German style bows with my rental bass and prefer the German. My question is do expensive bows really sound better than entry-level bows and why?

Thanks for your input . . . Jim W.

2. Welcome to TalkBass.com. It's not so much that the expensive bows sound better per se, but that they are easier to play with and enable the skilled performer to play with greater facility thus getting a better sound than they would with a lesser bow. A beginner might not even notice the difference in terms of how it might affect their own playing, but I'm certain they would hear a difference between a bad versus a good bow in the hands of an accomplished player.

Hope this helps -

- Wil

3. Thats kind of an interesting question, because in the hands of a monkey, it's going to make no difference. In the hands of a good bass player, it can make a ton of difference. A good bow can also make playing a lot easier for a not so great player. So, I guess the answer is technically yes...

4. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    You know you're good when you're able to judge a good bow from not so good a one.

You know you're REALLY good when dumping 2.5 k on this MF turns from nightmare to sweet dream !!!

5. Yes...products vary in quality from price to price range , and quality. pick up a 5 , 600 dollar bow and then go grab a 4,000$ horsht shicker...seriously.