Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

do i got the funk?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by mans0n, Aug 26, 2002.

1. mans0n

mans0n

Jun 15, 2002
    ok.. ive been playing bass for 9 months.. i recorded this lel .. thing.. and i wanted to hear some opinions about it.. ami... funky? does this sound terribly cliche? etc.. whatever...

excuse the lack of rhythm! im still working on that... and im a white suburban guy.. so that doesnt help hehe ;-)

file size is 767 kB

http://www.depressing.org/mans0nfunk.mp3

2. Sounds alright. Still needs work but for only nine months that was pretty good.

3. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    nope, you ain't got the funk.

At least, not yet. Funk is rhythm. Keep working, and keep listening. It will come.

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Keep practicing, mans0n. Sounds better than I did at 9 months, but I had never even heard of funk at 9 months.

Also, funk isn't just about slap, either. Check out Rocco Prestia with Tower of Power, or James Jamerson on old Motown recordings. That is serious funk, with no slap at all.

5. Aaron

Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    Damm, that was the first thing i thought of right after i listened to it, so then i was going to post that, but it was already there.

6. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    I wasn't able to hear it.

:(

7. Nice nice nice..... sound better slapping than I did at 9 months. Of course, I didn't even slap until I had been playing for a year and a half. And I learned on a fretless. Heh.

Keep up a steady rhythm, and you'll have good slap down.