1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Do I have a matching issue or possibly a bad cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ack, Jan 9, 2012.

1. ack

ack Why Can't We All Get Along?

Nov 19, 2006
    Somewhere near Raleigh
    Disclaimer: Before I get killed for posting another "matching" question, I have really tried to sort this problem out. I'm quite new to head/cab technology. Since I first noticed the problem (about a month ago), I've tried to isolate the problem, but I'm not much closer. I've sent the question to Peavey Tech Support on 12/31 and posted in the Peavey Amp Forum a few days later - no response to either.

I figured it was time to hit the TB knowledge farm before I just bring it "somewhere" for inspection.

Onward...
    I have two choices for amps:

1. Mark VIII (600W @ 2 Ohms, 350W @ 4 Ohms)
    2. ProBass 500 (500W @ 2 Ohms, 350W @ 4 Ohms, 200W @8 Ohms)

I have two 4 Ohm Cabinets:

1. 210TVX (175W continuous, 350W Program)
    2. 115BX BW (700W Program [BW] or 400W Program) [Scorpion] – I’m guessing that since the tag
    shows “BW” that it has a Black Widow inside. The mounting ring around the speaker is round and black (I believe the Scorpion has flat sides and is silver).

Symptoms:
    I've noticed that when I run both the cabs together, the TVX210 tends to sound nasally and fart a bit - even at low volume - after about 30 minutes. When I run either cab alone, they seem to behave nicely.

I truly don't know if the 115 ever farts out - it's difficult to isolate the sound when they sit on top of each other.

Obviously, I’d like to be able to use both cabinets at the same time with the head that is better suited for them. If I should be running a different 210 (or whatever), then that will also be good to know some recommendations.

Question: