Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

do i need an effects pedal?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by skyking, Jul 11, 2004.

1. skyking

skyking

Jul 11, 2004
    Montana
    i am fairly new to bass playing and i was wondering do i really need an effects pedal before i start playing gigs often? I play blues/rock and some country. i am on a tight budget and can't afford one now, and my guitarist thought i might want one.

2. 20one

20one

Jan 10, 2003
    Abilene, TX
    I've played over 200 gigs without using a single effect.

3. SuperSluggard

SuperSluggard

Jan 2, 2004
    No I don't think you NEED one. But you might want one. It's nice to have a distortion pedal for a couple of songs escpecially if you're playing rock. I have a EHX Double Muff fuzz pedal and I don't think I really need it. It's just nice to spice to up some songs with. For country music, you don't need anything. For blues, nothing, maybe a distortion pedal that isn't turned up too high.

4. Stephen Soto

Stephen Soto

Oct 12, 2003
    if you "look down" on people who play with effects, theres a million players that use them that would shred 95% of everyone on TB's balls off, so don't even go there.

anyway, like supersluggard said, you might want to check in to some overdrive/distortion pedals for that kind of stuff, maybe some reverb or chorus also.

5. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    For blues/rock and country, I'd stay as far away from effects as possible. They're useful if you get into the more modern rockish stuff, maybe alternative, or sometimes for Bootsy and funky stuff like that. The most popular "effect" is probably compression, and it's probably a toss-up between distortion and chorus for runner-up. Envelope followers are comparatively rare.

6. orange_nate

orange_nate Guest

Apr 15, 2004