1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Do I need to change strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Jkk17, Oct 16, 2019.

1. Jkk17

Jkk17

Jan 9, 2019
    Portugal
    [FIXED]
    Hi, so I am basically a noob when it comes to knowing what the problem in
    my bass is, and I am getting this sound (check video) on the A string. Do I need to change strings or does it have to do with the bridge? Recently I have been playing the for whom the bell tolls and I do some bending there, does it have to do with that? Should I stop bending?

BTW, I think you need to get the volume up because the video iisnt very loud! Thanks

Link:

Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
  2. dramatwist

dramatwist

Sep 27, 2019
    Personal choice. Some bassists leave them on for years... others change them on a regular basis. If they sound good, leave 'em on. If they don't, change 'em out. I wouldn't worry about bending.

Catbuster, Ggaa, Low84 and 1 other person like this.
  3. Datsgor

Datsgor Supporting Member

Jul 29, 2000
    California
    I would say raise your action little bit. It sounds pretty buzzy and my guess is the string is slapping on some frets.

4. Jkk17

Jkk17

Jan 9, 2019
    Portugal
    But if you watch the video , you will see that awkward and bad sounding sound , do you think it has to do with the string?

5. Jkk17

Jkk17

Jan 9, 2019
    Portugal
    The thing is that it only started happening some days ago , and I have the bass for months.Do you think its normal?

6. dramatwist

dramatwist

Sep 27, 2019
    Yes. I would change the whole set.

Jkk17 likes this.
  7. Leo Thunder

Leo Thunder

Sep 27, 2018
    It's not the string. The weather changes and the neck moves. It needs adjusting to compensate.

8. Jkk17

Jkk17

Jan 9, 2019
    Portugal
    Fixed it , it had to do with the action! I'm so dumb xD . Thank you all anyways

9. dramatwist

dramatwist