Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do I need to Rack?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassRocker8713, Aug 31, 2005.

1. BassRocker8713

BassRocker8713

Jul 15, 2003
    Ok, if I were to get an Ampeg SVT-4Pro or -5Pro, but nothing else to put in a rack, would I have to mount the SVT into a rack, or could it just sit on top of my cab (I have no experience with rackmounting)? Thanks for your help!

Corey

2. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    You don't HAVE to persay, but it's still a decent idea to. Mostly just for protection if you know you'll never get anything else to rack. But also it can be cool for if you ever decide to get like a wireless, then a power conditioner (which I reccomend you do, anyway) and rack FXs etc. I've gotten into the habit of racking everything... it's also easier to carry, IMO, cos you have handles then. I think it's just a good idea all around. But, you don't have to :p.

-Ray

3. You don't have to put it in a rack. The rack police aren't gonna come haul you off to rack jail or anything, but racking it will protect it from bumps and bruises and probably make it easier to transport.

4. thejohnkim

thejohnkim

Sep 30, 2003
    NYC
    yeah its just for protection, especially with those rack ears, since they tend to be the first to get bent up. you might want to consider a rack bag, if you think its light enough to sling over a shoulder.

5. Oooh, a rack bag is an excellent idea. I forgot about those. I have my 400RB in a rack bag and it's damned convenient.

6. Kael

Kael Supporting Member

Dec 26, 2004
    Oklahoma City
    Rack it. Chances are at some point an alchoholic guitarist will decide to use your amp head as a beer holder.

7. Fred312b

Fred312b What if I want to play jazz precisely? Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2002
    Chicago, IL