Do I save every penny and buy a bongo-Or do I reduce my student loans?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by tekhna, Jan 16, 2005.

1. You idiot-Get a Bongo!

8 vote(s)
  2. Don't be an idiot-Reduce your student loans

24 vote(s)
  1. tekhna

Nov 7, 2004
    I desperately want a bongo. My workstudy this semester will be about 1000 dollars. A bongo is a little more than 1000 dollars. I am a poor college student. Debt is bad, but I have years to pay it off.

How is my Hemingway Impersonation coming along?

In all seriousness, I really am wanting a bongo, but my parents are wanting me to just reduce my student loans. I don't need a bongo, but I am not really all that worried about debt right now. The responsible thing would be to pay off those loans, but it is so damn hard to want to pay them off while I am still in school.
  2. Pay down the loan. It's the responsible thing to do, and it's always better to have no debt, or at least as little as possible. As long as you are indebted to someone, you in a sense are at his mercy. A man with no debt feels like this. --> :hyper:

*climbs off the soapbox*
  3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Buy the bass. Paying off a loan is a good feeling, but not nearly as good as getting a new piece of bass gear. Especially if it is a bass you REALLY want.

You can always sell the Bongo if need be later. Since you mentioned that the student loan debt was not a concern for now, then get the bass.

4. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Both posts above make good points (paying down loans is good, so is buying new gear.) However, what if you took half of the work-study cash and put it away for the Bongo, and put the other half to the loan?

Also, do you need the Bongo right now, or do you want it right now?
  5. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL