Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do you bridge your thumb?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by billbill, Feb 10, 2002.

1. Hello everyone...i just signed up on this site today.
    word.

Anyways, I noticed below under the "thumb gard" thread there was a little discussion on who bridges, or "anchors" as you guys were calling it, their thumb while they play bass.

I used to, and i did for a little while. Then i went to not anchoring it, and it took a little to get used to it and build more strength, but i can do it fine.

How long have all of you non-anchorers been playing bass for? and how long have you been playing as a non-anchorer?

I've been a bassist for almost 14 months now, and i've been a non-anchorer for lets say about, hmmm, only 5 months or so...but i can do it like a pro!

2. theJello

theJello

Apr 12, 2000
    I personly have never seen a "pro" who doesnt anchor their thumb. How would you mute the strings?

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Actually a lot of pros use the "floating thumb" approach (e.g. John Patitucci), where you lay the thumb lightly on the lower strings to mute them.
    So they're not actually anchoring their thumb on a string or pickup.
    Achoring your thumb means that you have to pivot your hand around the "anchor point" (tip of your thumb). This changes the angle of your fingers when you pluck the strings, which makes it harder to get a consistent tone.

4. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    i've been playing bass for 17 years, and i've never anchored. i've always layed my thumb across the lower strings to help with muting, and to allow for easy thumb-plucking access.

it was essential when i moved from 4 to 7 in '93.

5. trainyourhuman

trainyourhuman Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2000
    MI