1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Do you listen to your ipod in public... I have stopped.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Linas, Oct 2, 2008.

1. Linas

Linas

Jan 6, 2005
    Chicago
    I am a musician and music lover, but i have decided a while ago against listening to my ipod in public. I find that i would rather take in the sounds of whats going on around me rather than drown them out with music. This way i am getting the full sensory experience of reality, weather the sounds are good or bad. Also, something turns me off about the idea of EVERYONE wearing ipods. It seems as if you are just shutting yourself off to other people and possible interactions you might be able to have. For me, my ipod stays at home next to my stereo or grados, where i can take time out of my day, listen to music in high fidelity without other distractions. What do you guys think, ipod lovers and haters alike?

2. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    actually, i was like that, but now i use it in public. :)

3. Nope... I love my hearing too much to ever use ear buds of any kind.. Much too easy to damage those irreplaceable auditory nerves.

4. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Just don't turn it up so much...

5. Deluge Of Sound

Deluge Of Sound Banned

Nov 8, 2007
    Maine/Vermont
    Or don't use earbuds... headphones have always worked for me.

6. The BurgerMeister

The BurgerMeister musician.

Apr 13, 2006
    Big Bear, CA
    i don't have an ipod... but i don't hate the idea of having one. if i had one, i would probably occasionally listen to it in public, but not always. like you, Linas, i'd rather 'take in' my environment than close myself off from it.

7. I like wearing mine on the bus, but not having any music playing and eavesdropping on the conversations around me.

lowsound

8. Ooh, sneaky(!

9. I wear mine a lot.

10. Cerb