1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Do you need music theory?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by IamGroot, Dec 28, 2019.

1. I don't care

3 vote(s)
    0.6%
  2. I don't know

9 vote(s)
    1.8%
  3. No

20 vote(s)
    4.0%
  4. Maybe, but not for the stuff I play

20 vote(s)
    4.0%
  5. I use a little bit sometimes

58 vote(s)
    11.7%
  6. Yes, i use it

188 vote(s)
    37.9%
  7. I use it a lot

189 vote(s)
    38.1%
  8. I use carotene suppositories instead

3 vote(s)
    0.6%
  9. Carrots

6 vote(s)
    1.2%
  1. Hopefully, not a divisive question

2. Scoops

Scoops Why do we use base 10 when we only have 8 fingers Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 22, 2013
    Sugar Creek, Wisc
    I am me
    At one time I didn't....then I got my degree in Music....then I went back to my old ways, only I am much better because I know the theory

3. TerenceE

TerenceE Supporting Member

Dec 6, 2015
    No one said both weren’t valid. Hell of a lot easier to learn covers and play with others (me....very little theory which I’m trying to change) than hanging in with the jazz crowd in a jam situation.

FatStringer52 and xrockstrongox like this.
  4. Regardless, as a musician you are always going to pick up bits and pieces along the way. So I would say yes insofar as you do need to distinguish between major and minor, diminished and augmented, etc. But I don't think you need full blown, in-depth music theory to be a very competent musician. YMMV . . .

Lorenzo V, flyeguy, raymondl3 and 4 others like this.
  5. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    You don't need it inasmuch you don't need a knowledge of anatomy to digest your sandwich.

But if your tummy hurts, it helps to know why.

6. Tom Bomb

Tom Bomb Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2014
    Yes. For the laughs ;)

kobass, design and Chickenwheels like this.
  7. Lobster11