Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Do you Play DB Too?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bdengler, Jan 15, 2006.

1. bdengler

bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    Do you play a double bass in addition to your bass guitar, and how do you decide whether to bring it to a gig? I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I play at church (I'm an amateur). For health reasons (arthritis), I need to get away from using double bass (and frankly, I'm tired of lugging it around). Last night I used an electric upright bass (a Moses model that's no longer being made), and the director of the group and others said that they "heard me" for the first time. It was like an endorsement that I no longer need to use the wooden dog-house. Our church is so big (it seats 1,400) that all instruments need to be amplifed. It seems to be that the bass guitar is the way to go. It's much more clear in such a large setting. But occassionally I've been asked to bow. I'm wondering if any of you have advice or experience on what type of instrument or combination of instruments to use in my situation. I love the idea of using an electric bass guitar because it's so portable, and I believe it opens opportunities to build lines that you can't on a double bass. But the bowing option hangs over my head. Thanks for your suggestions.

brian

2. PB+J

PB+J

Mar 9, 2000
    arlington va
    I play both and would rather play the upright ay day of the week if given a choice. I like the sound and feel of the upright so much better, even though A: it's expensive, B: it's hard to lug; C: it's fragile, especially a solid wood bass, and D: it's much harder to get a good amplified sound. even though all those things are true, i still prefer the upright.

3. nysbob

nysbob

Sep 14, 2003
    Cincinnati OH