Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does 1-fingered Bass playing = Bad technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Desi, Aug 27, 2005.

1. Desi

Desi

Jan 11, 2005
    I play with one finger mostly, but for some faster runs I bring in the middle finger to add a bit more speed, but I don't rely heavily on it. I'm fairly new to Bass as I started in March of this year. I do pretty well with just one finger and have nailed many songs that are played either by Pick or 2 fingers. I see many Bassists using 2 fingers and even 3, and I'm not sure if playing with one finger can be considered a "bad habit". Feedback on this would be most appreciated.

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I would say that in this day and age, yeah, 1 finger is a bad habit. You'll never get the speed or accuracy that a 2 fingered bassist has. Everyone points to James Jamerson playing 1-fingered as a reason that it's not bad technique. Of course, they forget that we aren't James Jamerson and we have a much worse chance of sounding good 1-fingered as he did.

3. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    Do yourself a favor, learn how to use 2fingers well...

i would like to see you play some octave riffs with one finger, or some faster song like scarified by racer x... it wouldn't work-

4. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    There are situations where using one finger(or thumb, or pick stroke) is a big advantage. As an inexperienced bassist you should learn to use two fingers. Bass playing can be hardwork. If two fingers can share the burden of one then they each only have to work half as hard, you dig? Don't work harder than you need to.