Does a bedroom bassist even need an amp anymore?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Felix1776, Aug 18, 2022.

1. Keep the amp

53.9%
  2. Downgrade to small practice amp

24.5%
  3. Go virtual

27.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Felix1776

Felix1776 Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2014
    Pueblo West, Colorado
    At this point, it's safe to say I'm a bedroom bassist. I haven't been in a band in 6 years and really don't see myself getting back into playing out unless it starts paying well again. For me, 90% of my playing involves playing along with songs on Youtube or Spotify through my amp using headphones, i.e. silent practice. It's rare I even plug my cab in and play out loud. I've got about $2k in my amp and pedalboard and I'm starting to wonder if I should sell it off.

I know amp sims have gotten really popular especially amongst guitarists. I think that stuff is pretty cool, but I know basically nothing about it. Would a bedroom bassist be able to completely ditch a real amp and pedalboard and do everything through a laptop using an amp sim program of some kind?

GTHintz, Bobo, gebass6 and 4 others like this.
  2. If you like the amp and you don’t need the cash real bad, keep it! The first thing that will happen when you’ll sell the amp is someone phoning you to join a new band!

3. Michedelic

Michedelic MId-Century Modern

Paying well to play out? I think you’ll be waiting the rest of your life, unless by some stroke of luck you hook up with a name act.

fig, Ed Byrnes, KaraQ and 9 others like this.
  4. Killing Floor

Killing Floor Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2020
    Austin, TX
    How do you like your amp? If more than “kinda” you should keep it.

5. Kaa

Kaa

Sep 28, 2004
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Can you do it? Yes. Should you do it? That's a tougher question. I use a headphone amp for my playing in my basement. I'm in the same boat as you, mostly, where I only jam with some friends occasionally.

DJ Bebop, Cal03 and hieronymous like this.