Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does anybody play a 'Burger?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fluke, Apr 10, 2003.

1. Fluke

Fluke

Jul 20, 2002
    [​IMG]

Anybody here play a Steinberger? They truly are the "fast food" of basses. All the same, quick to get and never leaves you hungry. Just kidding. But i've started to think they're cool. Know if there has ever been a Steinberger six string?

[​IMG]

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I have several - a "real" pre-Gibson XM2A, a couple of Korean Spirits. Obviously, I like the Steinberger System!

I'm not aware of any six string basses ever being built, but I'm no expert. Go check out the Steinberger World YahooGroup - they'll know for sure.

3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    The only Steinberger 6s were guitars.

I own an early L2 4 string (used to have two in fact, sold my fretless one last year).

I like it a lot but don't use it much because the blues guys I work with think it looks weird :rolleyes:

It's really very much like a Jazz Bass...the neck is similar to those fat 70s J necks and the pickup and control setup is J inspired. Even sounds like a Jazz, only better :D

4. I used to have an early L-2. It was my only bass for about 4 years, and I definately miss having one around sometimes.

The only Steinberger 6-string bass I've ever heard about was a prototype Q-series that's over on SteinbergerWorld (http://www.steinbergerworld.com/Xbridges.htm#6Narrow). Looked like a 5-string with 6 strings on it, so the spacing was pretty narrow.

Mike

5. Nice playing, nice sounding basses.

:D