Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

does anybody play ibanez basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tony longbass, Sep 9, 2005.

1. tony longbass

tony longbass

Sep 8, 2005
    omaha
    i just bought a ibanez btb400 a week ago and decided i need new strings and some new pickups. i play funk jazz and some metal. and iuse finger style and some slap. does any body have any ideas? :bassist:

2. SmittyG

SmittyG

Dec 24, 2003
    Texarkana, Texas
    While I play several Ibanez basses, I'm afraid I'm not much use in answering your query. I like mine with the parts they have. The one time I did try a BTB model, I liked the pups it had. Do you have a problem with the pups malfunctioning or is this a desire to get a tone the current pups won't give you? If the later, what kind of sound are you after?

3. tony longbass

tony longbass

Sep 8, 2005
    omaha
    im fairly new to bass guitar. i dont have much experience with pickups or the different tones they produce. i think the pick ups on the btb sound good but ive read many reviews saying to change them out. ive heard about semore duncan and bartollini pups but i dont know how they will differ in tone. i want somethin on the funk blusey level like santanas bassist and or flea's modulus but still sound good playin metal like alice in chains,stp and the sort. any ideas? :bassist:

4. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    It would narrow the tone preference to Seymour DUncan Actives ...

or EMG.

Because of the pickup size, it might be possible that Seymour Duncan makes a direct replacement.

For strings... try a set of Labella Hard Rocking Steel..

5. Ibanez and EMG are a definite match. I second that suggestion.