Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does anyone do this for a *profession*

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Progressive, Jan 11, 2006.

1. Just wondering; it appears that most people who are passionate about music (in my area at least) don't actually take that path as a true career. They'd much rather get a stready job and do music on the side. I, for one, am unsure.. I prefer pure musician.

Is this your life passion, or just a side job? (playing in a professional band/session musician)

2. preferences and realities are totally different beasts.

3. AlembicPlayer

AlembicPlayer Im not wearing shorts

Aug 15, 2004
    Pacific Northwet, USA
    old joke -

3 men in a bar
    1st guy says - " I make 250K a year..I'm a lawyer"
    the 2nd guy says - : I make 500K a year, I'm a doctor.

the third guys says - I make 6K a year.

the other two guys say in unison...- " what kind of strings do you use?"

badum bump .. :)

4. Hm. Interesting. xP

5. It is though. Be real for a second. Given the opportunity, don't you think the majority of people here, who ARE passionate about playing, wouldn't KILL to have music be their source of income? I'm sure they would. BUT, if the majority were to bank on that being their only vocation, a great many would starve. Many of us also wanted homes, families, etc. Hence their more monetarily-gainful professions.

6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I'm not sure I would.....:meh:

So OK music is great if you can do what you want to - but I have been in bands that made money and it was always a case of then playing what other people wanted you to play and this can get pretty boring...