1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Does anyone else suffer from "F.T.S.?"

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Mikeyd74, Sep 26, 2008.

1. A few days or so...

4 vote(s)
    11.8%
  2. Every couple of weeks.

10 vote(s)
    29.4%
  3. A few months.

8 vote(s)
    23.5%
  4. Once a year.

7 vote(s)
    20.6%
  5. Never.

5 vote(s)
    14.7%
  1. Mikeyd74

Mikeyd74

Jul 28, 2007
    Frequent Tinkering Syndrome.

I always seem to be tinkering with my string height, pickup height, truss rod adjustment, intonation, etc.
    I just can't seem to leave my basses alone.
    I'll be happy for a couple of weeks and then I start tinkering again.
    I only have one bass that I hardly ever mess with and I've been playing it for 15 years.
    Maybe I should of become a bass tech.

2. Lately I've really been messing with my tone and set-up. I could see how it would be easy to get addicted to tinkering. It seems like I'm always curious as to what an adjustment here or tweek there will do to the feel and tone.

3. ebladeboi123

ebladeboi123

Jul 11, 2005
    Oberlin, Oh
    I do like every month or so. But I'm very scared of the truss rod, because you can mess your bass up for good with that...

4. CapnSev

CapnSev

Aug 19, 2006
    Coeur d'Alene
    I am always messing with my setup! I am king of FTS!

I always think: "That's pretty good action, but I can do better." Then it turns out to be: "Nope. I can't get it better." Then I try it again later.

5. Mikeyd74

Mikeyd74

Jul 28, 2007