Does anyone have Zoom 506?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by PUNK&DONUTS, Feb 15, 2001.

1. I tried one along time ago in a shop and was thinking of making a purchase but the only problem was that I was told that it slightly lowers the sound quality and delays it. Does anyone own one of these and if so does it do this and what do you think of it?
  2. Turock

Turock Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2000
    I have one of the first ones, I think there is a 506 II. Mine is kinda noisy, but I haven't noticed any delay. I think they are great if you want to experiment with a lot of effects with out spending a lot of money. I'm not very big on effects (even though I do have an ART NightBass).
  3. I am a pro player who has used the same 506 for over 4 years now and don't plan to stop. I have used it on several hundred recordings working with some picky engineers in big time studios and none of them complained. I have used it on even more gigs and haven't had any problems, not once. Sure there are efx that have a better sound, face it a chorus that costs as much or more should sound better, but will it tune your bass, drive a set of headphones, 100 feet of cable and the 30 or 40 other things that the 506 will, yeah right. If you expect a 100 dollar device to make your cheap crappy bass sound like Flea or Les or whoever on a mega bucks bass and rig-- get futtin real. I find the 506 a lot more convenient then hauling a large pedal board and a rack to get just about the same sounds as the 506 and it will fit in the pocket of my gig bag. If I was playing 10,000 seat arenas and had a roadie and didn't have to worry about cartage would I use the Zoom, probably not but until then, I'll keep the 506.