Does anyone know of a good website for speaker physics?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ericman197, Apr 13, 2004.

1. Ericman197

Feb 23, 2004
    I was all set on getting an Accugroove Tri-210L and Whappo Grande, when I had an interesting idea. While I'll probably still get the Tri, I might make my own subwoofer and eventually my own cabs for various other purposes. From what I've heard, it's relatively easy to do this if you know the Thiele small parameters and know the various necessary calculations. What I'm wondering is, aside from the obvious saws, hammers and such, what equipment would I need? What calculations are necessary? I'm fairly decent at physics, so if I could find a site that explained the calculations and such, I could probably make a go of it. I'm not very good at woodworking, but I might sign up for that class next year. My real problem is that I need a relatively loud and deep subwoofer that's easier to transport than the Grande. I'd really like to get the Grande, but it's just a bit too big.
  2. This guy has all the equations:

A program to crunch numbers for you if you change your mind (plus it has graphs):

Glue (liquid nails/beats the nail works well), then either screws or clamps to hold the box together, sealer for the inside to keep the seams airtight (silicone is best, plain window caulk works too though)...

A very worthy project! I've come to the same conclusion: that custom is really the way to go to get all your needs met. Good luck and let us know how it goes!
  3. Bob Lee (QSC)

Bob Lee (QSC) In case you missed it, I work for QSC Audio! Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Jul 3, 2001
    Costa Mesa, Calif.
    Technical Communications Developer, QSC Audio
  4. ESP-LTD

Sep 9, 2001
    If you want a true sub (nothing above 200hz or so) you might consider car audio subs. There is a complete range of very nice rubber surround subs in all price ranges. Just bring plenty of power as their sensitivity is quite low.