does anyone know the "Satori" double bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by megan, Mar 1, 2004.

1. megan

Feb 29, 2004
    LA, CA
    Firstly, thanks for reading my post and giving me your input! :)

I'm tired of school's double bass and thinking to buy one. It's my first time to buy a double bass. With limited budget (2k) and resources (just immigrated), I don't know how to and which style I should choose. I found this store near my house, they only sell SATORI double bass. but I never heard or saw any discussions on this forum about this brand. I was told it is solid wood and made in China, sold 2k. I'm hesitated due to the unknown brand....and thinking if I should simply just buy one from the most known store -Lemur-music?

By the way, I'm only 5' 3" (Female), I'm debating if I should use 3/4 as most people choose or staying with 1/2 I used to play?

COuld you please give me some input? I really appreciate! :hyper:

The picture of this SATORI bass...
  2. Don't be put off initially because of the "made in China" label -- there are a few basses that are made in China, such as Shen and Christopher, that have passed muster with many folks around here. Do some more research -- maybe have a qualified luthier in your area check it out.

As far as size goes, most would advise you to go with the 3/4 if you can. I've seen a jazz player named Kristen Korb perform -- she's can't be any taller than you, and she tore it up on her 3/4 bass!
  3. Megan, please don't buy a bass without seeing and playing!!
    If you just go back, under basses, you'll see a heck of alot of learning material because we just went through the very same stuff with another young lady!!
    If that doesn't ring your bell there is an unbelievable amount on buying a DB. Use the search function!!
    Good luck!
  4. I (since no one else has) would like to recommend