Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does anyone pluck with two fingers?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by zaphod, Jan 28, 2001.

1. zaphod

zaphod

Jan 14, 2001
    This is just something i am wondering about:
    who plucks with both fingers? Is it a skill i should bother learning? And if you don't, how do you manage the really fast parts? Thanks in advance everyone

2. Dragonlord

Dragonlord Rocks Around The Glocks

Aug 30, 2000
    Greece, Europe
    well,how do YOU pluck?

I use 2 and I am trying to learn how to use 4...but this damn pinkie doesn't seem to want to give me a tone anywhere close to the tone of the rest three fingers:D

[Edited by Dragonlord on 01-28-2001 at 08:39 PM]

3. good question, how do you pluck?

i use 2, and more

4. I have used two ever since I started playing. Now I'm trying to learn how to use 3, just mainly because I want to in case I ever need to play something really fast.

5. Two does the trick for me.

6. I use 2, but can use 3 pretty well. I'd like to learn how to use 4, but ever since I broke my finger my pinky has been a few crucial mm shorter, putting my hand in an awkward position if I try to pluck with it. :)

7. guapongkev

guapongkev

Jan 25, 2001
    I use my thumb the most and i also use my other four fingers. I started only using my thumb but it wasn't fast enough so i just tried to use my entire hand. It is fun and but it also gets tireing. Unless you started using your thumb i guess it might be hard to use both it and your fingers.

8. marko

marko

Jan 31, 2000
    I started (only 18 months ago) playing with one finger. I did find it limiting though when trying to play the fast bits. I got a good tip from a mate of mine. When watching tv just sit with your guitar and walk your fingers up and down the strings. You'll be surprised how effective this is. You'll soon be playing with the extra finger in no time.