1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Does being a biological parent give you rights?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by disenchant, Feb 18, 2008.

1. disenchant

disenchant You can't plagiarize yourself.

Aug 9, 2006
    Elgin, IL
    I had an interesting discussion with a friend over if being the biological parent of a child gives you "rights" over the child.

I know the legal system seems to think so.

My opinion is just because you created the child doesn't mean you get rights that you don't earn. There are so many instances of children being abused and then sent BACK to live with their biological parent(s) because the parents have "rights." Or of a biological parent not being a good mom or dad and then the step parent really taking on the role but always getting shafted because legally the child is not theirs.

I have no personal experience with this other than I'm adopted and don't know my biological parents. But if I did, they wouldn't be my parents, nor would they have rights (although luckily with adoption they gave up those rights) in my mind. My parents took on the role, they raised me and they earned the rights to be mommy and daddy. I think being a Mom or a Dad is more than contributing an egg or sperm.

Just curious as to what you all think and what experiences you've had.

2. rap138

rap138

May 29, 2007
    south of Spain
    fully agree.

3. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2006
    Rochelle, Illinois
    Biological fathers have very limited rights regarding their children if they aren't married to the biological mother, but this varies from state to state.

4. Biological mom gave birth to you. Your real parents are the ones that raised you. If you were adopted, unless there is something written legally, a biological parent should have no rights.

5. jwbassman

jwbassman Supporting Member

Aug 9, 2006