Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does fretless rock?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tom-Jens, Feb 3, 2002.

1. Tom-Jens

Tom-Jens

Jul 26, 2000
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Last week I bought a Warwick Fortress One Fretless... I didn't plan to buy a fretless bass, but I just fell in love with this one (I love its tone and it has a nice bookmatched flamed maple body).
    I like this bass, but I'm a rock bassist and I play in a hardrock-band! I didn't have the opportunity to play with my new bass in my band yet, so my question is: does anyone of you uses fretless basses for rock music?
    While testing it in the shop, it seemed to me that you can play rock with it...
    Is it so that you should use flatwounds on a fretless?

2. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon
    Yes... fretless can rock. It's all in what you do with it. As to strings, some prefer flats for both the sound as well as the fact that they're kinder to the fingerboard. Others prefer rounds, sacrificing their fingerboards for the sound that rounds give. It's all personal preference. If you prefer the sound of roundwounds, then occasionally having the fingerboard re-dressed and eventually replaced may not be too big a price to pay...

-robert

3. old_skool

old_skool

Aug 17, 2000
    Milwaukee, WI
    Just because you play rock doesnt mean you have to play rock with this bass. Fretless will work for rock but you dont have to play rock with it. It can be for personal enjoyment and if you start another band other than rock it could be very useful.

4. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU