1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Does it make sense to shild a P bass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by NickInMesa, Apr 5, 2009.

1. I was wondering if it made any sense to shield a P bass, since the double coil pretty much cancel any noise.

Is this a B.S. question?

2. Giraffe

Giraffe Supporting Member

Nov 6, 2003
    San Diego, California
    As I understand things, and I am not a Guitar Scientist, the dual coil pickup minimizes 60 cycle hum. Radio frequency interference is still a problem, and the shielding would help reduce that. To get an idea of what the RFI sounds like, stand in front of your amp with the controls set as they normally would be set. Touch your strings firmly and listen. Now take your fingers off the strings, paying attention to the hissing sound that you can now hear. Go back and forth between touching and not touching. That hiss is RF interference. A good shielding job can reduce that RFI.

If you have access to a Jazz Bass, try this test. Grab the strings and hold on with both pickups turned up full. Now roll one of the volume controls down until you hear a deeper, even hum. Turn the pickup back up, then down, and get that hum in your head. That is the sound of 60 cycle hum, mostly disappearing when the pickups are both on, or at the same level, and reappearing when one pickup is turned down, which defeats the humbucking effect. The Precision pickup is humbucking, so this noise is largely taken care of already.

Two different types of noise, two different solutions. The shielding may alter your tone a bit, according to many guys with better ears than mine, but I wouldn't worry about it too much. I wouldn't expect miracles, either. Shielding usually reduces the RFI, but there will still be some noise.