Does less power but more speakers equal more, less, or equivalent loudness?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Acidic25, Feb 6, 2020.

1. Acidic25

Acidic25

Feb 6, 2020
    Hello all!

I’ve been playing bass for a little over 2 years now and have been taking lessons for a little over a year. I’m looking at upgrading my amp, and as much as I would love to get head and cab, I can’t swallow the price tag. So I’m looking for advice on a new combo amp.

The amp I have now is an older model Ampeg BA112 rated at 50 watts with a 12” driver. The one I’m looking to get is a 1966 Vox V4 Essex Bass combo at 40 watts with two 12” drivers. From what I’ve read, these amps aren’t remembered to fondly, but I wanted this amp because the band that I’m in pretty much plays music from this era and I actually like the tone I get out of it; I play a short scale hollow body (no, not a violin bass) and I feel the two are a good match.

But here is my question: even thought the ampeg is rated at at a higher wattage, would the Vox be louder because it has more speakers? Even if two amps are rated at the same wattage with the same amplifier circuit, but one setup has a 1x12 and the other has 2x12, would the 2x12 still be louder?

If you have any suggestions on amps, those are also welcomed; we mainly play late 60s-early 70s blues rock, psychedelic rock, as well as 50s blues. I’d like to get something vintage because of the warm tone, but my budget is $600-700, so I’m pretty sure most tube amps are out of the question.

Any advice is much appreciated!

2. Pat Harris

Pat Harris

Nov 17, 2006
    Brighton, MI
    In general, more speakers = more air moving = more perceived volume. More speakers also generally means bringing the load from 8 to 4 ohms for your amp.

For amp specs, you need double the wattage of an amp to get 3dB more overall volume out of it. Bassists tend to like headroom, and that's why we tend to like a lot of watts (solid state, speaking).