Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

does size affects scale length?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by tbassist4, Aug 28, 2005.

1. This just recently hit me. My school is purchasing a bass that I can use there so I dont have to bring mine back and forth. My bass is a full 4/4, and the one that the school is purchasing is a 3/4. I was just wondering, does the size also affect the scale length of the strings? Or will I have no problem playing both and switching back and forth? I'm a guy who knows what he's doing when it comes to electric basses, but I'm new to double basses. If I'm not mistaken, the regular scale length of the strings is 42"? Will this change from a 4/4 to a 3/4?

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    4/4 import size can mean anything. A real 4/4 Bass may be difficult for anyone to play. I have a few large 7/8ths Basses that are bigger than some new basses they call 4/4. I guess they forgot that the next size up from a 3/4 is a 7/8. Many new 3/4 Basses are actually small bodied as well. I have a 3/4 Italian Bass that will not fit a Chinese 4/4 case. My Bass has bigger shoulders than the Bag allows. Sizes are not accurate at all with Basses from today as compared to yesteryear.

Get all the standard dimentions and we can tell you the actual size or close to it. Use the measurements I list. They cover almost everything. Example;
    Upper Bout: 20 3/4" *Belly Length: 44 1/4"
    Center Bout: 15" *String Length: 42 3/8"
    Bottom Bout: 26 7/8" *Overall height? (without end pin)
    Rib Depth: 8" (Upper Bout tapers from 8" to 6 1/4")