1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Does size matter? Help picking an amp...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by twisty4678, Apr 15, 2009.

1. Hey there. I'll admit i'm new to this... I've Looked through the Faq, but i'm still desperately lost. My brother took me to guitar center on monday for my birthday, and we looked at amps. I saw a nice ampeg combo 2x10 for 600 dollars. My brother seems to thinks that a 10 inch speaker isn't big enough to produce nice beefy low end. So we looked at a 1x12, and i don't know if it seemed loud enough overall. I just started playing in a band. At practice i used an ashdown 10inch 30 watt amp. It was loud enough to hear, but was cranked. We plan on just doing bar gigs.
    Nothing serious, just for fun. So, my questions are:
    1. Do you really need more than a 10 inch speaker to get better low end?
    2. Would a 2x10 be good in a bar type situation?
    3. Could you recommend me a good amp (combo or cab/head) that would be loud enough for a bar gig and still sound good?
    My price range is between $300-$600. Thanks guys!

2. with the right eq settings, you can get some decent low end. generally at gigs, unless i'm mistaken, you're not going to want a lot of the lows because it will muddy up the sound a little at a distance.

if you want to be shaking the walls, you might want to go with something else, but otherwise, i don't think you should have any problems with a 2x10 cab with the right wattage (maybe ~200-300w would be more than enough).

this is all coming from me, who doesn't play gigs and has only played in a band setting one time a few years ago with an 8x10 cab and a 600w head.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups