Does string height = better tone?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Dreamwave, Mar 10, 2003.

1. I have heard of this and if true what would be the optimum height for tone yet staying with as low an action as possible? Thanks.

2. There is no optimum height given every player's touch, pickup height, string type, etc. IMO, as long as your strings aren't being choked off by buzz when you pluck slightly harder than normal, you're fine. Set your action to just such a height.
  3. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    I'm not a setup expert, but I'm pretty sure as long as the strings are high enough to prevent any buzzing your tone will be just as good as if you had it cranked up high. :meh: Where's Hambone when you need him?? He would be the guy to ask for this.
  4. chucko58

Jan 17, 2002
    Silicon Valley, CA, USA
    I paid for all my gear myself. Well, me and MasterCard.
    IME, action set too low gives a bass a "choked" tone. I prefer keeping the strings far enough off the board that I can play fairly hard without any buzz heard through the amp.

For me this works out to .015-020" relief (usually at the high end of that range), and at least 3/32" height at the last fret for the G string, more for the lower strings. My low B is usually about 9/64" off the last fret.

I have my 6 string bass set up a little lower than this... but only a little.

On a fretless, you need to get it right down on the deck to get the mwah. Some experts say a dead straight fingerboard is ideal, but I've never been able to pull it off. My playing style requires a slight amount of relief, but I haven't measured exactly how much.
  5. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY