Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Does this bass style sound ok?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Candiria, Jan 30, 2002.

1. Walnut Body
    mahogany core
    maple/walnut/maple/walnut/maple neck
    ebony fretboard
    bartolini p style pickup
    bartolini mm style pickup

ill probably decide to go without the preamp and just stick to passive...any opinions?

2. Candiria, I'm not an expert on the tone of different woods, but, from what I've learned here at TB, and at www.warmoth.com walnut and mahogany are both on the dark sounding side. Is this the sound you're looking for? You really can't tell the sound of any bass until all the components are together, but, this talk about a wood's tone is the starting point.

BTW, when you wrote: Walnut body
    mahogany core, did you mean that it's a mahogany body with a walnut top?

Mike J.

3. mahogany in the center with walnut ont he front and back

4. can u put that combination of pups?

Not sure but i think I read here somewhere that they would overlap.

5. You either get an accurate P tone, or an accurate MM tone. You can't have both. However, the sound of those two pups is pretty killer.

I don't know about woods, but the pickup combination sounds pretty good to me.

6. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    If you move the MM slightly towards the bridge, you're fine.

7. Was meaning to ask this when i read about the pickup placement in the other thread .
    What determins the proper place to position a pickup? And is "Proper" different for different Pickups or for different sound?

8. what do you mean theyd overlap? i cant have these pickups together?