1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Does this string height look reasonable to you?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by vindibona1, Apr 25, 2018.

1. vindibona1

vindibona1

Apr 18, 2015
    I'm trying to set up a Fender 5 String Jazz Bass that had been sitting idle for years. When I got it the action was something like 20/64ths" and the relief was about 1/4". I got the relief set very low now but to lower the action I had to shim the neck and even still the G's saddle is on the deck.

I'm pretty new to bass setups so I'm measuring the action at the 17th fret. Not sure if I should have measured at the 12th. The strings are 45 on the G and 130 on the B. Anyway, I did my best to take a photo while holding the ruler in place. Should I try to go lower and re-shim the neck or just leave it alone?

JB5_StringHeight_SM.

2. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    It *looks* high to me.

Coolhandjjl, Alik, jamro217 and 2 others like this.
  3. I agree

jamro217 likes this.
  4. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    At the 12th, I aim for 1/16" at the G and 3/32" at the E...the B is always a crap-shoot. How much relief do you have onboard? How did you shim the neck?

Riis

CharlieMac and jamro217 like this.
  5. vindibona1

vindibona1

Apr 18, 2015