Does your tube amp smell when its on???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mat gregory, Oct 18, 2005.

1. Hehe , this is an interesting one , well i bought myself a warwick tubepath 5.1 and in all its amazing!!! butttt when i turn it on it has a funny smell to it from which seems to come from where the tubes are placed. the smell is a bit funny , its similar to that that comes from a photocopier when your copying paper. Im a newb to tube amps so if this is me bein dumb lol tell me!! the amp works fine by the way and the casing is cold to touch and the fan is workin fine and it was played pretty much continually last night for about 2-2.5 hrs and didnt burst into flames.
  2. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Could this be minor high-voltage ionization, or does that only happen in the kilovolt range? My tube combo has a bit of a smell to it, but I think this is just heating from the tubes cooking the printing on the tube.
  3. could well be that , thankyou very much indeed!! id also like to hear other ppls experience lol , but thankyou alot Trevorus!!
  4. tadawson

Aug 24, 2005
    Lewisville, TX
    Is it clean? If not, you are smelling the dust cooking . . . . which, due to it's similarity to paper fuzz, smells a lot like the hot section of a photocopier . . .
    If its ozone, then that is a different problem - there should not be anything in a tube amp that can produce ozone, although there IS a lot of very high voltage in the toner transfer section of a copier . . . .

- Tim
  5. Fealach

Fealach Guest

Apr 23, 2003
    Gone to a better place
    Either all my tube amps are broken, or it's normal.
  6. Pretty much

I know mine does, not alot tho, only if your close to it really
  7. metron

metron Fluffy does not agree

Sep 12, 2003
    Lakewood Colorado
    my v-4b smells like hot tolex.
  8. I love the smell of hot tubes in my Mesa 400+.
  9. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire