Doin' It Yourself

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by TedP66, Sep 14, 2000.

1. TedP66

Aug 25, 2000
    I'm interested in replacing the pickups on my Mexi Jazz. I've checked around, and the best price for getting them professionally installed was about $90. How difficult is it to doe it yourself? What would you need besides a soldering iron & some solder? Would I need to chisel some wood out to fit the pickups? I'm not Norm Abrams and I dont have a dato-head cutter. I'm just an amateur. Any help would be appreciated.

2. gweimer

Apr 6, 2000
    Columbus, OH
    If you're only interested in replacing the pickups, make sure you get direct replacements (like a Bart J pickup to replace your current J pickup), so you don't have to worry about routing. I would bet that any pickup you buy new will come with a wiring diagram, so all you need is the soldering gun, some solder (rosin core only), and a steady hand. It's really pretty easy.
  3. I did mine. See profile. Had to hand chisel out a little bit of paint and wood for the bridge pickup to fit. No biggy, only 10 minutes. Then solder a few wires. Flawless. I should have wallowed out the pickup wire hole, cause I think it is kind of pinching the wires between the bottom of the hole and the bottom of the pickup, since the new pickup is thicker and longer. I used Dimarzio DP123's, Standard old J-Bass split coil humbucking replacements. I love them.

If you have ever done anything like the above, you can do this. Practice soldering if need be just so you won't melt off all the insulation on any wires in the bass. I use one of the $5 soldering irons from Radio Shack when I'm not at home with my $100+ Hakko soldering station. Go to Radio Shack and buy some really thin diameter Rosin Core solder. It flows real good. DO NOT USE ACID CORE! Acid core is plumbing stuff.

4. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY