Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Donald Raphael Garrett

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by dhadleyray, Dec 23, 2004.

1. dhadleyray

dhadleyray Guest

Dec 7, 2004
    I was wondering... Has anyone ever heard of a bassist named Donald Raphael Garrett? He used to play with Sun Ra and John Coltrane. I studied with him in Illinois in the late eighties for awhile. Unfortunately, he died in Champaign IL. in the early 90's. I was in Philly studying with Gerald Veasley, and he knew about Raphael. He's mentioned in a few biographies on Coltrane, but I can't find any records. I know the question is somewhat obtuse, but miracles can happen... or so I've heard. :)

2. oliebrice

oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    London, UK
    I know very little about him, but he plays bass clarinet on a few Coltrane records. Not 100% sure which ones, but if my memory is correct then "Kulu Se Mama" and "Impressions"

3. oliebrice

oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    London, UK
    a quick web-search just showed that he's on Coltranes "Live in Seattle", (I think on b clarinet), and that he worked with Alice Coltrane and Frank Lowe

4. M Paroo

M Paroo

Jan 2, 2004
    River City
    I ran across this list of selected recordings in Groves Dictionary of Jazz ...

As sideman: J. Coltrane: Live in Seattle (1965, Imp. 9202-2); Om (1965, Imp. 9140); Kulu se mama (1965, Imp. 9106); on [various artists]: Live at the Festival (1970–73, Enja 2030), A. Shepp: Sonny’s Back (1973); J. Jarman and D. Moye: Earth Passage-density (1981, BS 0052); Jazz Doctors: The Jazz Doctors (1983, Cadillac 1011); K. El’Zabar: Sacred Love (1985, Sound Aspects 021).​

The brief bio lists some of the others he played/recorded with ... Ira Sullivan, Roland Kirk, the Experimental Band, the Sea Ensemble.

~ Mari

5. dhadleyray

dhadleyray Guest

Dec 7, 2004