1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Don't covet thy father's goods…?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by keyofnight, Mar 22, 2013.

1. keyofnight

keyofnight

Jun 3, 2011
    Seattle, WA
    Dang…it's been a long time since I've posted. Hey guys! :hyper:

When I started learning to play the bass years back, my father was excited: not only was I the only one of his kids who took interest in playing a musical instrument, I was the only one who took up his instrument of choice. To this day, it's probably the only thing he and I see eye to eye on. He even told me he always wanted to play a five string like I do—he just never had the time for it.

When I started playing, I started looking at the gear he had laying around. The most notable gear: his old fretless Guild bass. I wasn't sure what model it was, but it's a hollow body. After looking around a lot, I think it's a 60's Starfire bass of some kind with that lovely red top and two chunky pickups. I haven't seen it in years, though. Even still: I want it, and I might just ask for it.

Would that be a terrible idea? He's not playing it, and I would probably take better care of it than he does right now. It's hanging up at his office as a display item.

How many of you covet your parents' old instruments? How many of you have asked for them? How many of you were successful?

How about you folks with kids? When would you start giving them your instruments?

(Lots of questions. :)

2. M.R. Ogle

M.R. Ogle Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 5, 2004
    Mount Vernon, Illinois
    Backstage Guitar Lab owner
    Just ask if you can borrow it for a night. If he's reluctant, then it has sentimental value to him, so play it once, take care of it, and give it back.

BUT... he just might see if you're really into it and let you have it.