1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Don't know what to practice anymore

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dethlateer, Jan 16, 2017.

1. Dethlateer

Dethlateer

Jan 10, 2017
    I've been playing for about 3 years now, switched from guitar so I could start playing with people; was playing with a band within weeks of first picking up the bass. Am now in a metal band who'd been around for years, really helped boost my progression.

Now I've come to the point where I don't really know what to practice anymore. I'm holding off on more theory stuff because I need to improve my technique and chops (more on that in a bit). There are some of our songs I've noticed I can't play the faster parts cleanly, and even my own song my technique breaks down halfway through because there's a lot of stuff going on in the first register and my hand begins cramping up quickly, even if I'd been practicing it at home slowly focusing on relaxing my hands.

Currently what I do for practice is set a metronome at like 60-80 BPM and do 16th notes to practice making my 3-finger technique more clean. Sometimes I'll just do straight 16ths on the 5th fret moving up a string every beat, sometimes I'll go 5-7-6-8 (on 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively, but still 16ths) and move up and down the strings every 4 beats. But its typically just doing that exercise at a BPM for 5 minutes, take a break to run through a song that I know [Death - Spirit Crusher since I'm in D standard or I'll try other songs that are in standard (Megadeth, Iron Maiden) with the volume down], then do it again for 5 minutes with a 5-10 raise in BPM if I'm comfortable, either run through another song or take a minute break, and repeat. Do this for an hour. Then the next hour or so is practicing riffs, often the riff of mine that cramps my left hand severely, at a slow BPM (about 70) in 5-10 minute bursts.