1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Don't laugh....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by boglej2, Feb 27, 2008.

1. boglej2

boglej2

Dec 3, 2007
    Dublin, Ireland
    As stupid, ignorant, foolish this might sound its an honest question. What is a preamp? what does it to the sound? whats good about them? Why do pros use em in their setup?

I can't understand what they're and feel u guys are prob best in the kno

2. no need to feel stupid about it. gotta ask before you can know..

I am no amp expert but the preamp is the part of the amp where your tone comes from.

generally an amp is two major sections.. the preamp section and the power section. The power section is where you get your power.. naturally.. and the preamp section would be your EQ... and things like that. It determines alot of the tone of an amplifier..

so when guys talk about buying a preamp (other than one you put in a bass, which is also common) what they are doing is using a preamp, and a totally seperate power amp.

this way they can mix and match power amps and preamps to get the exact level of power that they want mixed with the preamp that they like the tone of..

again im no expert but i hope that helps!

3. pre amps are the section of an amplifier that allow you to shape your tone or "EQ". I assume you are referring to the setups with a separate pre and power amp which I don't know much about but I believe buying separates gives the advantage of swapping out all different combinations of pre and power amps til you find something you like. Very versitile, but preamps are in heads and combos too, the sections where you tweak your tone and the power amp is represented by the master volume.