Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Don't ya ever mention The King??

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Abr@hamBassBoy, Jan 2, 2003.

1. I'm a newbie here and I've been lookin' around some of the topics and i've noticed the fact that the awesome bass play Mark King isn't mentioned the way he actually deserves to... I mean players like Victor Wooten and Marcus Miller are indeed fantastically skilled Bass Players from a technical aspect but generally I don't think they've done any fantastic Solos or Bassline compared to Mark King... Anyway this is my opinion, it might be twisted and very wrong... But I'm comfortable with it... Listen to the Bass Solo at the jazz café and listen to how incredibly innovative he is as he does the slap Solo...

2. Yes he's often mentioned..but I haven't listened to anything of his stuff yet..

3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    actually, i'd like to increase my exposure to mark king's playing.

let's hear some suggestions for "essential king" :)

4. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    Get the live CD "Physical Presence".

5. beermonkey

beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    I'm not hip to anything he did outside of "Level 42"... but two songs that I really dig that are very different are "Something About You" (all slapping) and "The Chinese Way" (all finger style and VERY Jaco-esque).

6. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    actually the best of Level 42 is in my car along with marvin gaye (james jamerson & bob babbit), stevie wonder (james jamerson), aretha franklin (tommy cogbill?), gov't mule (many bass players), richard bona and puddle of mud (i like one of thier songs!!)

7. Bruce Lindfield