1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Dorian with Jaco fingering

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by catcauphonic, Aug 1, 2012.

1. catcauphonic

catcauphonic High Freak of the Low Frequencies Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2012
    Seattle WA
    I had been practicing all the modes from books for a few months, & thought I had nailed the Dorian scale pretty good. All the books I have that mention it show it as R-2-3 on the first string, 4-5 on the second, & 6-7-8 on the third, with a shift somewhere between first & third. During my last lesson my instructor brought up the Dorian mode for the first time, and he stressed his preference of Jaco fingering on this mode - reaching big between index & middle fingers on the second string to play the 4-5, then playing the 6 with your pinkie - so you technically don't have to make any hand shift. I'm curious as to how much more practical this may be in any playing situation, & how many other people routinely use this fingering?

2. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana
    I don't know how practical that fingering is, but you need to know several fingerings for any scale you know.

3. jsbarber

jsbarber

Jun 7, 2005
    San Diego
    I took a few, very few, guitar lessons and that was a scale playing technique that I was shown. You can do the same thing for the major scale, ionian mode. 1, stretch 2, 4; 1, stretch 2, 4; 3, 4. So, I think some guitarists do this a lot. Two things: Jaco had very long fingers (see photo); your ability to do this may depend on what position you're at on the neck. Down by the nut it might be very hard to do the stretch, but higher up it should be easier.

FWIW,

Jim

Attached Files:

4. bass_study

bass_study

Apr 17, 2012