1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Do's and Dont's for sending emails to venues to get gigs?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by SmokinJoe992, Dec 11, 2017.

1. I have recently put a band together and have become the band leader by default. I have limited experience in obtaining gigs. I would like to put something out to a lot of the local venues to see if I can get something lined up. Most of them do booking online now, and I was just interested in getting some general advice on the best ways to get gigs online. We made a couple of short promo videos which have us playing about 5-6 songs each to include in the email. I would just like to hear how you guys generally word such an email and what you put in it and what you don't put in it.

ICM likes this.
  2. PauFerro

PauFerro

Jun 8, 2008
    United States
    No luck with straight email. I found I have to a) figure out who the manager is b) figure out when s/he is there and c) try to get him or her to listen to me about how I can pack the place if they hire my band.

Some places just hire musicians as a matter of course, without expecting promotion on your end, but this is rare, I found, and everyone wants to play there. Thankless work really -- but face to face selling is what has worked for me.

3. I second the in-person approach. You may get a response electronically, but your results are going to be significantly better in person. Figure what rooms you want to play and go from there.

SmokinJoe992 likes this.
  4. I get no love on FB messenger or email. I still try though!
    Face to face is the way to go...

catcauphonic and SmokinJoe992 like this.
  5. duff beer

duff beer

Dec 2, 2007
    Winnipeg
    Don't send an email...it will likely be ignored. Talk to them in person.

SmokinJoe992 likes this.