Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Double Bass beginner

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by dodgy_ian, Jun 27, 2004.

1. dodgy_ian

dodgy_ian

Apr 9, 2001
    Newcastle, UK
    Hey all,

I've just started playing double bass these past few months. I've been playing electric for seven years, been playing jazz on it for the past year or so so am pretty much down on my theory and playing, just needing to get the double bass technique down really. Basically, any ideas on what I should practise over the summer before I start my jazz degree in September, to really sort out my playing?
    Cheers

Ian

2. LM Bass

LM Bass

Jul 19, 2002
    Vancouver, BC
    I get to say it first! :hyper:

Lessons with a great teacher are your best investment at this point. Electric is a lot different than double bass, and there are many technical pitfalls awaiting you. Save your self a lot of re-training later by getting a good teacher now, you won't regret it!

To find a good teacher, phone the nearest musician's association (AF of M) and see who they reccommend. Call the local university or College and get the teacher's phone number. It is really best to get a classical teacher for technique, so the local symphony in your area is a good place to look. Go to a few concerts, and see if you can speak to a few of the bassists in the section afterwards. They might seem a little bit unapproachable, but let them know that you are serious, and planning to enter jazz school soon. They might be able to steer you to a grad student who will teach you for a lower rate (or a months' supply of Ramen noodles :smug: )

Don't forget to listen to a lot of good music! Edgar Meyer and Gary Karr are great "classical" double bassists, as well as people like Chris McBride, Ron Carter, Scott Lafaro with Bill Evans, Charles Mingus, Paul Chambers, etc etc

Best of luck to you!
    LM