1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Double Bass in Wind Ensemble

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by Sem97, Oct 9, 2018.

1. Sem97

Sem97

Oct 9, 2018
    I’m a music student at university, majoring in cello. I play with my university’s string orchestra as well as a community amateur orchestra. I plan on taking up the Double Bass within the next few weeks as a secondary instrument for its musical versatility and its capability of strengthening my cello playing.

One thing I’ve wanted to do for some time is join my university’s wind ensemble. They’ve been performing in my city for over 20 years and each time I go to their concerts I just want to be a part of the experience. Auditions are held next August, and I was hoping I could audition with bass as I know wind ensembles often utilize the DB to compliment the low brass and compensate for the low winds. However, the ensemble already has one double bassist, so I’m worried about them accepting another one, even if I do well on the audition. Is it possible that a wind ensemble can make use of multiple DB’s, or is there usually just one?

2. wathaet

wathaet

May 27, 2007
    I used to play with a professional wind ensemble and I was always alone, however this is more due to economics. Sousas first professional band had four basses, and in the 1928 School Band Contests booklet, two string basses are listed. The latter was an attempt to standardize the size of the ensemble

3. Any decent sized wind band will outblow a double bass anytime they want to. Two is not a problem sound and volume wise. There may be some intonation issues, but hey, they've got flutes and trombones.

Ric Vice likes this.
  4. wathaet

wathaet

May 27, 2007