Double Bass in Wind Symphony/Concert Band etc...

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Chrix, Oct 18, 2004.

1. Chrix

Apr 9, 2004
    Due to scheduling conflicts, I've been unable to play in my University's orchestra for the past 3 years (I sucks). But I still needed to get my classical bass on, so I talked to the band director and I'm currently playing in the Wind Symphony, and doing this hasn't really been a problem since I've got a lot of experience playing in band from high school (yeah...I know...I played clarinet. Sorry.) Now I know that the majority of wind symphony music is currently being written and arranged with double bass parts. What I was curious about is if anyone else here has experience doing this and if they've got any kind of advice/stories/ideas on the differences and whatnot of doing this.
  2. Chrix,

Yes I played with the Wind Ensemble in high school. Double bass was the traditional contrabass for wind ensemble because it's background sound worked better than Tuba, and mixed well with the low woodwinds. As I remember though, the parts wearn't all that interesting. In the old days, db was used in concert band for stage work, and the bassists would double on sousaphone for marching. Since it may just be you playing some parts think chamber music and concentrate on beautiful tone rather than power, also playing in tune with bassoon can be tough.