Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Double Bass v. Bass Guitar

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by bdengler, Feb 8, 2004.

1. bdengler

bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    :help: Dear users, I have a confession: How can I survive with an upright bass in a "bass guitar" world? I've been playing double bass (or an EUB) at Church for almost 15 years. The music director at our church really hates double basses; he's really into praise music (although ironically he like the arco sound for certain pieces). He insisted I play bass guitar for one piece; so I picked up my old bass guitar and started to do scales on it. I really don't like playing the thing. I'm so use to finding my way around the neck on those damn big instruments. Plus, being an amateur, I don't have time to practice more than one instrument. Can I survive with an Upright? Can't the electric uprights accomplish many of the same things? Are there uprights used in contemporary pop (I'm thinking of Bare Naked Ladies). Should there be contemporary players on the upright that I can listen to in order to get ideas? Do some of you have the same issue and have come up with solutions?

Thank you, Brian

2. Hmmm - sounds like you should change your Church...

…sounds like you should change your religion…

;)

- Wil

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I have played EBG for many years and only took up string bass about two years ago. I also play in a praise band and have for a few years.

It's rarely I have a practice that I don't suggest bringing out the DB for a tune or two. I have yet to get a "yes."

I think there is a fear of the perception more than the sound. I think it's tough for them to equate the DB with being young, hip and "contemporary." This isn't unique to praise music however.