Double Neck U-Bass/Nylon String Design

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by nonoknapp, Aug 15, 2019.

1. nonoknapp

nonoknapp

Jul 18, 2019
    STL
    Hey all, I spent a lot of time here as a teenager learning as much as I could about luthiery. It was an invaluable resource then as I'm sure it is today. I am studying 3D modeling and drafting, and have access to a CNC and ample woodshop through school. I do live looping performance using a Boss RC-300 and have been kicking around the idea for a U-Bass/Acoustic guitar double neck based on a modified Godin MultiAc design. I think it might be ideal for that context but I could use some input on the design before I start more detailed modeling.
    Doubleneck Looper Front.jpg
    First off, I'm considering moving the guitar scale toward the body end of the guitar so the nuts of the two necks are lined up. I figure this will help with balance, ease of strumming the guitar half, and overall size.
    Doubleneck Looper.jpg
    Next, the chambering. This will be used amplified only, so the chambering is just there for weight reduction. Does the current lattice look structurally sound under a .25 in. Spruce/Cedar top? Do you think a support under the bridges is necessary?
    Doubleneck Looper Rear.jpg
    Finally, I am kicking around the electronics. Definitely a piezo in each, two seperate preamps, a toggle switch between the two, and a killswitch. I am considering making the guitar portion a steel string instead of nylon, and throwing a lipstick pickup in for flexibility/leads. Also mounting a piezo under the top somewhere in the lower bout to use as a percussive instrument.

I would appreciate input on any/all of the questions here, and any other ideas you may have. This is a pretty niche instrument, so I'm really just designing out of thin air and whatever specs I could scrounge up from the relevant instruments.

2. ctmullins

ctmullins fueled by beer and coconut Gold Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2008