DPA 4099 Bass vs. Audio-Technica ATM350

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Maxschwartz17, Nov 10, 2016.

1. Hey y'all,

This is my first time posting on Talkbass.

I'm trying to decide on a clip mic to purchase for my upright. I am a jazz and bluegrass/old-time player, so I'm mainly concerned about having a mic that will capture my pizz and bow tones cleanly. I'd probably be blending the sound with my pickup, which is a Realist. Thinking about investing in a Felix dual-preamp system to EQ the two of them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

2. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Max,
    While both the DPA and The ATM 350 are fine microphones. The DPA 4099 Dvote, is a minature shotgun design, that's got amazing of axis rejection. I have the Grace Felix and The DPA 4099B and have used them on several gigs.
    It's a winning combination. That said, you should take a look at the Ischell Contact Mic threads as many TBer's love this little mic.

Ric

3. lrhbass

lrhbass Supporting Member

Apr 20, 2009
    Dallas,Tx.
    Try either the Troll, and or the Ischell, these two have been the most successful choices for good pizz and arco work.

Ric Vice likes this.
  4. Ric Vice

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    As a FOH device the DPA 4099 has done remarkably well with my bass and a Grace Felix, into an amplifier it's a tricky proposition, so if you're looking for a Mic that will go to your
    backline amp and FOH then their are better choices. For this I use a Ehrlund EAP, which sounds remarkable on my 5/8 Mirecourt Double Bass, running into the Grace Felix, through a M700
    using a Audiokinesis TC-112. I found that my particular setup, was incompatable with the Ischell, likely due to the horn on the Thunderchild. Others have used the Ischell with great results.
    Just my experience.

Ric

5. Thanks for your responses, guys.